Friday, May 29, 2009

Seven autonomous provinces proposed

Kantipur Report

KATHMANDU, May 22 - Federal democratic republic of Nepal will have seven autonomous provinces governed by separate administrative units at the state level and a two-tier executive body comprising a 205-member parliament and 64-member national assembly at the federal level, according to a model constitution floated on Thursday by constitutional experts.

The model constitution, published by a Consortium of Constitutional Experts (CONCOE) has envisioned a parliamentary form of government with an executive prime minister and a constitutional president at the centre and presidential system at the provincial level.

While the model statute has reconfigured the zonal distribution into seven autonomous regions — Sagarmatha, East Tarai, Bagmati, Annapurna, West Tarai, Karnali, and Mahakali — based on geographic characteristics, it retains all 75 districts giving them relatively greater autonomy.

Retention of the current national flag, recognition of cow as national animal, rejection of dual citizenship, incorporation of new rights such as right to diplomatic protection, youth rights, rights of senior citizens and right to inclusion are some of its salient features.

Lead writer of the model constitution, Bipin Adhikari said the document intended to help stimulate rational discussion on core constitutional issues facing the country. He said the model could be a basis for discussion among lawmakers and experts. A constitution can fail, said Adhikari, not because of its weaknesses but because of weakness on the part of people who use it.

Nepal Bar Association Chairman Bishwo Kant Mainali and UML leader Bharat Mohan Adhikari appreciated the model statute for covering most of the issues.

Posted on: 2009-05-21 22:23:41 (Server Time)

No comments:

Post a Comment